Home | Contact | Sharepoint | Legals | Data Protection | Terms & Conditions | Sitemap | KIT

High Quality Education: KIT Rankings

HECTOR School Teaching Award Winners 2018

HECTOR School Teaching Award 2018

The HECTOR School – Technology Business School of the KIT announces the teaching award winners for 2018.

The HECTOR School faculty works at the forefront of innovative business thinking, influencing business leader and creating world-class research that explores the key practical and academic issues facing the business world. The faculty of the HECTOR School consists of internationally recognized professors from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), partner institutes of the KIT worldwide and of business experts from leading companies.

Based on the quality assurance process of the KIT system accreditation, the HECTOR School of Engineering and Management is pleased to inform about the latest teaching award bestowal. The evaluation is based on a selection criteria and a value system that the teaching community and students have approved.

In the exclusive ambience of the palace of Karlsruhe, Prof. Dr. Nickel, Vice-Dean at the Faculty of Economics and Management, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and member of the HECTOR School Managing Board, handed the certificate of the excellent teaching performance to the elected 15 of the around 150 lectures. Among others, these lecturers proved to teach a balanced model of theoretical knowledge and practical approach that is most acceptable for part-time students that are eager to expand their academic knowledge and achieve outstanding performance in their jobs at the same time. The HECTOR School thanks all the lecturers for their outstanding commitment. Especially emphasized has to be Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gisela Lanza who gained two first places. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gisela Lanza is Director of Production Systems, wbk Institute of Production Science of the KIT and amongst others lecturer in “Management of Product Development” and one in “Production and Operations Management.”


Complete list of the HECTOR School Teaching Awardees:


Management Modules

Place 1: Dr. Michael Buchmann

Place 2: Prof. Dr. Petra Nieken

Place 3: Prof. Dr. Martin Schulz


Master of Science program: Production and Operations Management

Place 1: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gisela Lanza

Place 2: Prof. Dr. Verena Nitsch

Place 3: Prof. Dr. Oliver Stein


Master of Science program: Management of Product Development

Place 1: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gisela Lanza

Place 2: Dr. Nikola Bursac

Place 3: Sascha Ott


Master of Science program: Service Management and Engineering

Place 1: Prof. Dr. Gerhard Satzger

Place 2: Prof. Dr. Clemens Puppe

Place 3: Prof. Dr. Thomas Schuster


Master of Science program: Energy Engineering and Management

Place 1: Prof. Dr. Helmut Ehrenberg

Place 2: Oliver Deuschle

Place 3: Dr. Siegfried Bajohr // Dr. Thomas Jordan


The bestowal took place during the New Year’s Reception and Graduation Ceremony of the HECTOR School. More information about the teaching award here.

The HECTOR School is the Technology Business School of the worldwide-established Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). It provides state-of-the art technology knowledge and relevant management expertise for engineers, computer-scientists and economists on a part-time basis. The six Master of Science programs address new developments with the focus of product and financial engineering, information technology, renewable energy technology and mobility in the automotive industry.